The East York - Scarborough Reading Association is committed to improving the quality of literacy instruction and encouraging the development of a lifelong interest in reading.

Executive (2015 - 2017) (see full size image)
Front row (left to right): Margaret Talbot, Jill Eason, Natasha Serba, Jane Milligan, Mike Francone, Marisa Liscio, Marguerite Campbell, Liz Blake, Kathy Lazarovits;

Middle row (left to right): Teresa Paoli, Kelly Manning, Stephanie Shore, Rebecca Toombs, Lise Hawkins, Jose Molina, Brenda Stewart, Tony Petitti, Joan Barrett, Joyce Dolmer;

Top row (left to right): Judith Laskin, Nora Lovgren, Brian Svenningsen, Erica Townson, Denise Canning, Val Collins, Vangie Kalanderopoulos, Doris Wukasch, Tanya Reilly-Primaylon.

President and Conference Chair (2015 - 2017)
Marguerite Campbell is currently the Principal at Morse St. School for the Toronto District School Board. In over 25 years of teaching, she has taught kindergarten to grade six as well as physical education, integrated arts, special education and has been a literacy coordinator. Marguerite was involved with teaching and administering the Additional Qualifications Reading course at OISE/UT and also spent three years as a Course Director for York University's Faculty of Education at the Regent Park site.

1st Vice-President and Conference Programme Chair (2015 - 2017)
Marisa Liscio has been teaching in the Toronto Catholic District School Board for 22 years. She presently teaches 5th Block, an early Reading Intervention program for students in Grades 1 and 2. She has received extensive training in the area of literacy development in the early years. Marisa has been a member of the East York - Scarborough Reading Association since 2004. Prior to joining the Executive Committee, she was very honoured to be recognized with the Reading Teacher award in 2001. Marisa brings vast knowledge, effective leadership, quiet energy, and steadfast commitment to her new role as 1st Vice-President and Conference Programme Chair.

2nd Vice-President and Communication Chair (2015 - 2017)
Denise Canning has over twenty years of experience with The Toronto Catholic District School Board as a classroom and special education teacher leading up to her current role as elementary school principal. She has obtained a Reading Specialist and Masters in Education with a focus on Holistic Education from OISE. Denise has been a member of The East York-Scarborough Reading Association since 2008, and has a lifelong love of books and reading. Denise brings to the position of Communication Chair an enthusiasm and strong desire to serve the community and assist in literacy development.

3rd Vice-President and Outreach Chair (2015 - 2017)
Liz Blake has been teaching for the Toronto District School Board for over fifteen years as a classroom and special education teacher. She has a Specialist in Special Education and a Masters of Education from OISE. Liz has been a proud member of The East York-Scarborough Reading Association since 2004 where she shares her love of reading and interest in promoting lifelong learning. She is committed to making a difference through promoting and supporting literacy initiatives in her role of Outreach Chair.

Past President and Awards Chair (2015 2017)
Kathy Lazarovits has held numerous positions in education over the last 35 years. She has taught grade classrooms, enrichment and remedial programs, English language learners of all ages and additional qualification programs for teachers. Since her retirement from the position of ESL/ELD Instructional Leader in the Toronto District School Board in June 2009, Kathy balances her life with working as an independent educational consultant and spending time with family and friends and travelling. She is passionate about teaching and learning and believes in working in schools with the whole child. Kathy has a strong knowledge base in literacy instruction and brings a rich background to her role as Past President and Awards Chair.

Director of Finance
Michael Francone, presently retired, has taught for the TCDSB for over 40 years holding numerous roles: classroom teacher, educational consultant, Vice Principal and Principal. Michael is committed to the philosophy and mission of the reading association and has been an active member since 1986. He presently is the Director of Finance and serves on the Personnel Committee.