Help us Celebrate Excellence in Literacy Teaching!

The East York-Scarborough Reading Association is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Reading Awards. Three awards will be presented. A teacher from each of our Association’s founding school boards, T.C.D.S.B. and T.D.S.B., will be honoured, and a third award will be given to an educator from any other school or school board in Ontario.

Reading Awards will be presented at the annual Reading for the Love of It conference Awards Banquet dinner on the evening of Thursday, February 22nd, 2018. Each award winner will receive a complimentary full conference registration package to the 2018 Reading for the Love of It conference, two tickets to the Awards Banquet, and a $100 gift certificate to purchase books.

Take this opportunity to help us celebrate excellence in literacy instruction by nominating a colleague before Monday, November 13th, 2017. To be eligible for this award the teacher will have:

  • demonstrated a lasting influence on student learning through innovative teaching
  • shared literacy expertise with colleagues (mentoring, presenting workshops)
  • contributed to literacy newsletters and/or professional journals or the equivalent
  • been nominated by at least two colleagues (with separate nomination forms please)

Click here for an easy-to-complete form

Nominations in writing (paper or electronic) will be accepted until 5 p.m., Monday, November 13, 2017. Applications may be submitted electronically to, by fax to 416-444-9282 or mailed to EYS Reading Association, 1315 Lawrence Avenue East, #309, Toronto, ON, M3A 3R3.

Please be sure to include the name of the school and school board where the nominees work, along with full contact details.

With thanks,

Marguerite Campbell
Awards Committee Chair and Past President